Curriculum Organisation

The Foundation Stage curriculum is taught during the Reception year. There are seven main areas of learning and development. All are equally important and interlinked.

The three Prime areas are: Communication and Language, Physical development, Personal, social and emotional development.

There are also four specific areas through which the three prime areas are strenghened and applied: Literacy, Mathematics, Understanding the world and Expressive Arts and Design.


National Curriculum

Long Term Plans:

Early Years

Year 1/2 

Year 3/4

Year 5/6


Children are taught the National Curriculum (September 2014) Programmes of Study, through years 1 - 6. Emphasis here is on basic skills development in English and Mathematics. Here at Woodlands learning is exciting and in a meaningful context for the children. Where ever possible learning is linked to become cross curricular and is taught through the topic/project approach. Where this is not achieveable subjects are taught discretely.

Click on the web page address to access the New National Curriculum

Throughout the year we have started to develop our two chosen curriculum drivers; Enterprise and Learning Outside the Classroom. These will be embedded in the academic year of 2016-17.

Within each of the four classes the teachers have developed creative curriculum projects which are cross curricular and of interest to our pupils at Woodlands.  

Curriculum queries: If you would like to obtain further information about the curriculum please email the Headteacher (, who will pass on your query to the appropriate subject leader, this will then be followed through as swiftly as possible.

Curriculum complaints can be made through a formal complaints procedure in accordance with section 23 of the Education Reform Act. Parents should, initially, see the Head Teacher, where appropriate documents can then be obtained.